ANZAED offers members three scholarships for conference registration for our Annual Conference – the Peter Beumont ANZAED Young Investigator Prize; the Paul Foulkes ANZAED Clinician Scholarship and the AED/ANZAED Early Career Travel Scholarship which supports early career investigators presenting their research on the international stage at the AED conference. Please see below for more details on these scholarships.

[powr-countdown-timer id=”fe8cb405_1572576709″]

Paul Foulkes Clinician Scholarship

The annual Paul Foulkes ANZAED Clinician Scholarship is a prize for a clinician who is a member of ANZAED and who can demonstrate that their attendance at the ANZAED conference will be of substantial benefit to the clinician, his/her organization, his/her clients and the community at large. Any clinician working in the eating disorder field who is a member of ANZAED is eligible to apply for this scholarship. The Executive Committee will select the applicant it believes best fulfils these criteria. The prize will be exemption from conference registration and $AU500.

The 2020 award winner is Amy Kaplan, specialised mental health dietitian at Epworth Healthcare. See her receiving her award here >>

The 2019 award winner was Peta Marks, credentialed mental health nurse and family therapist

The 2018 award winner was Elesa Crowley from Tamworth Rural Hospital.

ANZAED Rural & Regional conference scholarships

Two scholarships are available for clinicians working in rural & regional settings to attend the annual conference. The prize is exemption from conference registration. Applicants must be a clinician working in the eating disorder field who is a member of ANZAED. The ANZAED Executive Committee will select the applicant it believes best fulfils these criteria.

  1. Expression of Interest: Describe how the clinician, his/her organization, his/her clients and the community at large will benefit from this scholarship;
  2. Provide a reference in support of the application from the organization in which he/she works or a professional who is aware of the clinicians work.

The 2020 award winners are:

  • Vyv Rodnight, RN and Clinical Lead at CAHMS, Bendigo Health and Practitioner/Researcher with La Trobe University
  • Amy Trengrove, APD with SA Health in Clare Valley, South Australia.

The 2019 award winners were: Claire Day, private practitioner (Mental Health Social Worker) in regional QLD and Lisa Phillips, clinician of Youth Mental Health Team.

The 2019 award winners were: Melissa Holland from Mildura Base Hospital and Katie Babbott from Youth Horizons Trust. 

ANZAED/AED Early Career Travel Scholarship

This award is for early career investigators who are ANZED members, who have an Abstract accepted at the annual International Conference on Eating Disorders (ICED), run by the international Academy of Eating Disorders (AED). The conference is being jointly run by AED and ANZAED next year. Two scholarships are available. Each includes registration for the ICED2020 Conference and pre-conference research workshop, plus up to AU$2,000 in travel costs for first prize, and up to AU$1,000 in travel costs for second prize.

The 2020 award winner is:

  • Dr Long Le, for Burden and Health State Utility Values of Eating Disorders: results from a population-based survey.

2nd place winner is:

  • Dr Emily Matheson, for The effectiveness of brief animated films as scalable micro-interventions to improve children’s body image: A randomised controlled trial.  

Past Winners:

2019: Hiba Jebeile for Pediatric weight management interventions and eating disorder risk: a systematic review and meta-analysis


2019: Nora Trompeter for The mediating effect of Emotion Dysregulation between Gender Typicality/Contentedness and Drive for Muscularity and Cross-sectional and longitudinal associations between fear of negative evaluation and weight/shape concerns among adolescents.

2016: Felipe Quinto da Luz for Growing prevalence of comorbid eating disorder behaviors and obesity: 20-year cross sectional data from South Australia from 1995 to 2015 (co-authors: Amanda Sainsbury, Haider Mannan, Stephen Touyz, Deborah Mitchison & Phillipa Hay)

2016: Deborah Mitchison for The Bidirectional Relationship between Quality of Life and Eating Disorder Symptoms: A 9-Year Community-Based Study of Australian Women

2015: Sian Mclean for Protective and exacerbating influences on body image following exposure to thin-ideal media in adolescent girls: The role of media literacy and appearance comparison

2014: Lisa Dawson for Defining Recovery from Anorexia Nervosa: Can we Reach Consensus?

2013: Siew Soon for Testing of a Metacognitive Control-Related Maintenance Model of Anorexia Nervosa.

2012: Deborah Mitchison for Relationships between Self-Reported Lifetime History of Anorexia Nervosa and Present State Including Health Related Quality of Life

Dietitians Association of Australia (DAA) research prize for the best Dietetic research presentation at the ANZAED conference

Dietitians Association of Australia (DAA) research prize for the best Dietetic research presentation encourages and recognises excellence in the area of Dietetics in the field of eating disorders. The award is for the best Dietetic research presentation at the Australian and New Zealand Academy for Eating Disorders Conference. All Accredited Practising Dietitians who present a short oral paper, workshop or poster at the ANZAED conference will be eligible for the award. The successful candidate for the Award will be announced at the conference and will receive an award of $300 and a certificate. The winner will be featured on the ANZAED website and in the Dietitians Association of Australia newsletter.

The 2020 winner is Fiona Willer, Advanced APD for “Size Accepting Health Focus is Superior to Weight Control Focus for Eating Disorder Risk and Dietary Quality in a Large Australian Community Sample.”

The 2019 winner was Georgina Buckley, PhD Candidate & Sports Dietitian, Exploring disordered eating in athletes, BSc, MHumNutr, MDietPrac. Open Access publication of her presentation is available here

The 2018 winner was Kylie Matthews, University of Queensland”Medically compromised, extremely underweight adult patients with eating disorders can be safely refed using a higher energy feeding protocol”,  Authors: K. Matthews, J. Hill, S. Jeffrey, W. Ward, A. Davis, S. Patterson, M. Palmer, S. Capra

Peter Beumont Young Investigator research Award

The Peter Beumont ANZAED Young Investigator Prize is awarded to a young investigator from a germane discipline who is a member of ANZAED and has submitted the abstract to the ANZAED conference which is deemed to be the best by a selection committee. An early career investigator will be eligible if he or she is an honours/fourth year student, a postgraduate student, or within 3 years of a fourth year or postgraduate degree and indicates he or she wishes to be considered for the prize. Evidence of eligibility may be required.

The prize will be the conference registration (applicants must register to the conference but this will be refunded) and a $500 honorarium. His/her paper will be adjudicated at the conference; the winner will then have the conference registration reimbursed and be paid the honorarium.

The 2020 award winner is Eugenia Zhi Wei Yee for “Differential Impacts of Viewing Fitspiration and Thinspiration on Male Body Image: An Ecological Momentary Assessment Study.”

The 2019 award winner was Yuan Zhou for Combating disordered eating and poor body-image with the use of Imagery Rescripting (IR) among body dissatisfied young women.

The 2018 award winner was Mia Pellizzer.

This award is named in the honour of Professor Peter Beumont, the first President of ANZAED